Helsingin Suomalainen Yhteiskoulu
Isonnevantie 8
00320 Helsinki
Kanslia puh. (09) 4774 180
syk@syk.fi
Kartta
Kuvat: 

SYK in English

Alaotsikko: 
SYK
Teksti: 

Helsingin Suomalainen Yhteiskoulu (SYK) is an independent coeducational day school founded in 1886. The IB-section was created in 1990. The school prepares its students either for the national matriculation exam or the International Baccalaureate Diploma, both of which give student general university entry qualification. All staff are experienced and qualified teachers with university degrees and/or teaching certificates.

 

The school year runs from mid-August till the end of week 22. Instruction is given on 190 days. Modern facilities include e.g. art and music rooms, computer rooms, rooms for textile work, science laboratories, a library, a language laboratory, a gymnasium and a swimming pool. Good academic standards are required for IB entry. Admission is based on previous school records appraisals from teachers and the headmaster of the previous school and an interview. If necessary, an entrance exam will be arranged. The language of instruction is Finnish in SYK comprehensive school (grades 3-9) and the national side on upper secondary school. Our upper secondary school also includes an IB section (grades 10-12), which is taught in English.

Kuvat: 
Alaotsikko: 
Structure of the school
Teksti: 

The comprehensive school consists of grades 3-9. The upper secondary school incorporates an International Baccalaureate program. In all there are approximately 1150 pupils. Helsingin Suomalainen Yhteiskoulu provides a dynamic learning environment in which all students are encouraged to participate actively in both lessons and all other facets of the school. Also, the broad age range of the students encourages tolerance and understanding.

 

Founded in 1886, SYK is the oldest coeducational school in Finland. Proud of its traditions yet always seeking to be at the forefront of educational development the school offers its students a broad range of activities in which parents play an important part.

Kuvat: 
Alaotsikko: 
Contact
Teksti: 

Address

Helsingin Suomalainen Yhteiskoulu

Isonnevantie 8

00320 Helsinki

Finland

 

Names and phone numbers

  • Office +358 9 4774 180, fax: +358 (0)9- 4774 1810
  • Principal Jukka Tanska: jukka.tanska[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1814
  • Vice principal Jukka Niiranen: jukka.niiranen[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1816
  • Assistant principal Marja Jegorenkov: marja.jegorenkov[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1828
  • Assistant principal Sampo Lokki: sampo.lokki[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1815
  • IB-Assistant principal Minna Ankkuri: minna.ankkuri[at]sy.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1817
  • IB-coordinator Anni Grönroos: anni.gronroos[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1829
  • Financial officer Anne Eloranta: anne.eloranta[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1844
  • Secretary Raija Viuhkonen: raija.viuhkonen[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1818
  • Secretary Raija Raja-aho: raija.raja-aho[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1833
  • Teachers' Lounge +358-(0)9 4774 1811
  • Guidance Counselor Hannele Rubin: hannele.rubin[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1820
  • Guidance Counselor Maria Kärkkäinen: maria.karkkainen[at]syk.fi +358 (0)9 4774 1819
  • Swimming Hall+358 (0)9 4774 18
Helsingin Suomalainen Yhteiskoulu
Isonnevantie 8
00320 Helsinki
Kanslia puh. 09 4774 180
syk@syk.fi
Kartta